Why Twitter?

twitter-bird.gif

Image from Lee Oden

I have a confession to make: I’m hooked on Twitter. For those of you who don’t know, Twitter is a free social networking service that allows users to share their thoughts with people interested in following their happenings. Updates are displayed on the user’s profile page and instantly delivered to other users who have signed up to receive them.

For my Advanced Public Relations Writing course, I was asked to create an account on Twitter and follow my classmates on our group network. We could post about anything we wanted and had to update our profile five times within 48 hours. While I was skeptical about the assignment at first, because I didn’t understand why other people would care about what I ate for breakfast or how many times I fell ice skating, I gradually became addicted to the application. I found myself engrossed in my classmate’s comings and goings, and it was interesting to see how much we have in common. It’s amazing how a person can make you laugh with only 140 characters.

Twitter is an excellent way to stay connected with colleagues and friends, share and receive useful links, receive feedback on ideas, practice casual writing, and gauge what other people are talking about. It’s social networking at its finest.

The best way to understand an application is to use it. I encourage you to set up a Twitter account and chirp away! You may surprise yourself by how much you enjoy it. I did.

One response to “Why Twitter?

  1. Allie,

    I agree that Twitter is a great application to stay connected and to get a few laughs. Companies are also utilizing it as a constant press release, using it to update consumers and others on daily changes. A good example is the the San Diego Zoo Twitter.

Leave a Reply

